Sancerre

A bit of history

The notoriety of Sancerre wines, now worldwide, goes back to ancient times. The Roman, Pliny the Elder, and later Gregory of Tours around the year 580, noted Sancerre for the quality of its wine among the vineyards of the "Royal River", the Loire. John, Duke of Berry (fourteenth century), considered it to be the best wine of the Kingdom...

In the twelfth century, the Augustinian monks located nearby in the abbey of Saint-Satur at the foot of Sancerre, made the vineyard prosper. They planted pinot noir, which became the most important Sancerre grape variety until the nineteenth century, when the vineyard was destroyed by phylloxera.

Sauvignon became the main grape variety in the twentieth century. It has a different expression on our terroirs to anywhere else and thus enabled Sancerre to receive the Appellation d'Origine Contrôlée classification in 1936. The reds and rosés received the classification in 1956.

The white Sancerre wines, made exclusively from Sauvignon Blanc grapes, now account for 80% of production. Pinot noir grapes are reserved for the production of red and rosé Sancerre wines. By taking advantage of the advances in transportation methods, Sancerre wines quickly became very popular in Parisian bars and bistros. They were then exported worldwide. Today, 70% of our produce is exported across the world.

Sancerre

Un peu d'histoire

La notoriété des vins de Sancerre aujourd’hui mondiale, remonte à l’Antiquité. Le romain Pline l’Ancien, plus tard Grégoire de Tours vers l’an 580 citaient déjà Sancerre pour la qualité de son vin parmi les vignobles du « fleuve royal », la Loire. Quant à Jean, le Duc de Berry (XIVe), il le considérait comme le meilleur vin du Royaume…

Au XIIe siècle, les moines Augustins situés à proximité dans l’abbaye de Saint-Satur au pied de Sancerre, font prospérer le vignoble. Ils implantent le pinot noir qui devient l’encépagement le plus important du sancerrois jusqu’au XIXe siècle, période à laquelle le vignoble fut anéanti par le phylloxera.

À partir du XXe siècle, le sauvignon devient l’encépagement principal ; il s’exprime sur nos terroirs comme nulle part ailleurs et permet ainsi à Sancerre de recevoir son Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée en 1936. Les rouges et rosés sont à leur tour classés en 1956.

Les sancerres blancs, issus exclusivement du cépage sauvignon blanc, représentent aujourd’hui 80 % de la production. Le pinot noir est quant à lui destiné à la production du sancerre rouge et rosé. Profitant du développement des moyens de locomotion, les vins de Sancerre connaissent très vite un grand succès dans les bistrots ou autres caboulots parisiens. Ils seront par la suite exportés dans le monde entier. Aujourd’hui 70 % de notre production est exportée à travers le monde.